The University Libraries at Virginia Tech is closed on major holidays when the University is closed. Please refer to the University's academic yearly calendars for detailed listings.

Please note, a Virginia Tech ID is required between the hours of midnight and 7:30 a.m.

Campus scenics, spring, flowers, dogwoods, Newman Library

Newman Library
Art & Architecture Library
Northern Virginia Center Resource Center

Newman Library, Special Collections

Special Collections
Veterinary Medicine

Contact Info

University Libraries
Carol M. Newman Library, Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

(540) 231-9232

Art & Architecture Library, Virginia Tech
Cowgill Hall RM 100
1325 Perry St.
Blacksburg, VA 24060

(540) 231-9271

NVC Resource Center
7054 Haycock Rd.
Falls Church, VA 22043

(703) 538-8340

Special Collections
University Libraries, Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

(540) 231-6308
specref@vt.edu

Veterinary Medicine Library, Virginia Tech
265 Duck Pond Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

(540) 231-6610

Be sure to select the desired location in the drop down menu above.

The University Libraries at Virginia Tech is closed on major holidays when the University is closed. Please refer to the University's academic yearly calendars for detailed listings.

Please note, a Virginia Tech ID is required between the hours of midnight and 7:30 a.m.

Thanksgiving Holiday

Friday, Nov. 17 Closes at 4 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 18 9:00 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 19 9:00 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 20 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 21 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 22 7:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 23 Closed
Friday, Nov. 24 Closed
Saturday, Nov. 25 9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 26 Open 9:00 a.m.
Resume 24/5 schedule

End of the Semester

Sunday, Dec. 3 Open 9:00 a.m.
Open 24/7 through Tuesday, Dec. 19
Wednesday, Dec. 20 Close 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 21 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.

Winter Closing

Friday, Dec. 22 7:30 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 23 - Monday, Jan. 2 Closed

Thanksgiving

Friday, Nov. 17 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 18 Closed
Sunday, Nov. 19 Closed
Monday, Nov. 20 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 21 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 22 8 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 23 - Sunday, Nov. 26 Closed

Normal hours resume on Monday, November 27.

End of the Semester

Friday, Dec. 22 - Monday, Jan. 1 Closed

Thanksgiving

Monday, Nov. 20 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 21 11 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 22 Closed
Thursday, Nov. 23 Closed
Friday, Nov. 24 Closed
Saturday, Nov. 25 Closed
Sunday, Nov. 26 Closed

End of the Semester

Same as Fall hours

We do not adjust our hours during exam week. We will maintain our normal schedule through Wednesday, December 20, 2017.

Holiday Closing

Thursday, Dec. 21 - Tuesday, Jan. 2 Closed

We encourage you to return library materials before leaving for break.
We will continue to check email, voicemail, and book-return boxes while we are closed. Please contact us if you need assistance during this time.

Evenings and weekends open by appointment.

Thanksgiving

Saturday, Nov. 18 Closed
Sunday, Nov. 19 Closed
Monday, Nov. 20 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 21 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Wednesday, Nov. 22 9 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 23 - Sunday, Nov. 26 Closed

Exams/Winter Break

Sunday, Dec. 10 11 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 11 - Thursday, Dec. 14 7:30 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 17 11 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 18 - Wednesday, Dec. 20 7:30 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 21 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 22 9 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 23 - Tuesday, Jan. 2 Closed
Wednesday, Jan. 3 - Friday, Jan. 5 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday, Jan. 6 Closed
Sunday, Jan. 7 Closed

Normal hours resume on Monday January 8.